8 replies to this topic

#1 Cheri

Cheri

Advanced Member

• Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,774 posts

Posted 23 June 2009 - 04:33 PM

Since I'm fairly new to owning more than one dog at a time, I could use some advice. Natasha is a small female, about 60 pounds. She's our rescue, we've had her for about 14 months, and she is a little over two years old. We got Logan a couple months after Natasha, when he was seven weeks old. He's now a little over 13 months old and approximately 80 pounds. They loved each other at first sight and they get along great, EXCEPT when they are outside together. Now that Logan is a lot bigger than Tash, he is getting very rough with her. I am reminded of those nature shows where you see the lion chasing down and killing its prey. She's running like heck, he catches up to her from behind, leaps on top of her, knocking her down, and biting her neck. I have also seen him body slam her with his shoulder. She won't fight back. But what's strange is that she rules the house. All she has to do if he gets too rough when they're inside is give a certain tone of growl and he goes running into another room.

He is not neutered yet but he will be. After reading all the latest research, I am electing to wait a few more months, until he has pretty much reached physical maturity. I'm not sure that will make much difference, though, because what I'm seeing doesn't really seem like mounting behavior. In the meantime, I can prevent this by either turning them outside separately or having him on a leash, but I would like to find a way to train him not to treat her that way. I'm wondering if this is a situation that would justify an electronic collar. I have had people tell me that it may make it worse, though. So I would be grateful for any ideas from you experienced multi-dog owners.

Currently part of my treasured family and helping to make life fun and busy:

Hunter, the chocolate Labradeagle (or Beaglador)

Terra, the tall, gorgeous red Doberwoman